If you have recently completed the level 3 Award in Education and Training and relished the experience of delivering your micro teach session, it is essential not to let your inner ambition of teaching diminish. The level 4 Certificate is the natural progression route and a gateway for any potential teacher to apply themselves within the diverse and dynamic sector of education and training. 
Whether you are new to teaching or currently work within a teaching role, the qualification is accessible to all, and requires you to become a critical reflector of your own teaching practice. The qualification programme is a significant step-up from the level 3 Award, and involves the practitioner to document 30 hours of their teaching practice-including 3 observations- typically by a line manager or qualified teacher (colleague) who preferably holds a level 6 PGCE or Cert Ed qualification.
You will receive constructive and positive feedback for both your written answers and lesson observations, enabling you to grow in confidence and knowledge during your time on the course.

The course itself comprises of 6 units:

  • Unit 1: Roles and responsibilities within education and training
  • Unit 2: Planning in education and training
  • Unit 3: Delivery in education and training
  • Unit 4: Assessment in education and training
  • Unit 5: Using resources within education and training
  • Unit 6: Inclusive Practice


The Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training (CET) is a requirement for anyone looking to work in a Teaching role in an associate position. This role carries less responsibility and potential salary than that of a full teaching role; however you will be certified to teach independently within a range of environments and institutions within the private training, and state educational sectors.

Progression routes

The practitioner can progress onto the Level 5 Diploma in Education & Training on completion of the level 4 qualification. The qualification is recognised as an ‘in service’ qualification allowing the holder to gain access to employment within part or full time education positions (typically within further education and sixth form colleges). It has a similar structure to the level 4, whereby the practitioner documents 100 hours of teaching practice with 6 observations.
A key benefit of the level 5 qualification is that it allows the holder to pursue the nationally recognised QTLS (Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills) status. The qualification is equivalent to QTS (Qualified Teacher Status) and seen as a direct pathway into teaching within the primary, secondary and special education schools under local authority control. Allowing more employment opportunities and a chance to enhance teaching practice within different sectors.

Photo by Lindsay Henwood on Unsplash